Issue 196

csf-logoForum adopts Steering Committee reform
December 1, 2014

Batumi_2The 6th annual meeting of the Forum has approved a streamlined, 13-member Steering Committee which gives more weight to the EaP national platforms, combined with EU representation directly connected to the Working Groups, while creating five Working Group Councils, each with representation from every EaP country, strengthening co-ordination and inclusivity in the operations of each Working Group. Each Working Group council will also have an EU co-ordinator.

The reformed composition of the Steering Committee comprises six country coordinators, 5 working group coordinators and up to two EU Advocacy coordinator and replaces the 19 member Steering Committee.

The reform has come into force on the 20 November 2014. Therefore, the new Steering Committee for 2014-2015, has been selected according to this structure.

This approach draws on all the positives of the current framework – wide representation, covering all Working Groups, National Platforms, and EU representation – but works to make operations more efficient – replacing an inefficient, large Steering Committee with 19 members focusing on procedural and organisational matters, distracting them from focusing on the task of co-ordinating and supporting the activities of the Working Groups and NPs themselves – , and to ensure that all Steering Committee members have clear roles and direct links with the work of the NPs or the Working Groups.

Adopted Reform

csf-logoNew Steering Committee (2014-2015)

Interim Co-Chairs

  • Andrei Yahorau | Center for European Transformation | Belarus
  • Krzysztof Bobiński | Unia a Polska Foundation

Members of Steering Committee 

  • Armenia Country Facilitator:   Mikayel Hovhanisyan/Eurasia Partnership Foundation
  • Azerbaijan Country Facilitator: Sabir Baghirov/Entrepreneurship Development Foundation
  • Belarus Country Facilitator:  Andrei Yahorau/Center for European Transformation
  • Georgia Country Facilitator: Lasha Tugushi/European Initiative – Liberal Academy Tbilisi
  • Moldova Country Facilitator: Ion Guzun/The Legal Resources Center
  • Ukraine Country Facilitator: Viktor Taran/Center for Political Studies and Analysis
  • Working Group 1 EU Coordinator:       Krzysztof Bobinski/Unia a Polska Foundation
  • Working Group 2 EaP Coordinator:      Oleg Shatberashvili/Association European Studies                                                                   for Innovative Development of Georgia (ESIDG)
  • Working Group 3 EU Coordinator: Plamena Borissova/ Institute for Environmental    Strategies
  • Working Group 4 EaP Coordinator:      Hovsep Khurshudyan/”Free Citizen” Civic Initiatives Support Center
  • Working Group 5 EU coordinator:       Daiva Kvedaraite/Lithuanian Trade Union Solidarumas



CaptureIn 2012-2014 TCPA conducted a study of Armenian civil  society, employing secondary data analysis, an organisational survey and qualitative interviews. The study was funded by the Academic Swiss Caucasus Net (ASCN). The study confirms the post-communist ‘weakness’ of civil society in terms of low membership  and distrust in Armenia. Only 7% of the population is actively involved in civil society organisations in 2011: a  dismal  number that has decreased since 1997 when it was 12%. Trust towards NGOs is decreasing in Armenia since 2009. NGOs are less trusted than the local government and the media. The reasons for this  ‘weakness’ however, are conditioned by current social  and political problems as much as they are an echo of the past. Most people believe NGOs have limited to no impact on addressing social issues.

The full report – here:

Turpanjian Center for Policy Analysis at the American University of Armenia

This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.